30 before 30: #s 11 and 14 in progress

I wanted to give an update on the 30 before 30 list! Numbers 11 and 14 are: Knit a scarf and memorize the sermon on the mount. I wanted to put these two items on the list to for a couple of reasons, first and foremost, knitting requires you to be consistent in order to complete the task. You have to do the same stitch and the same number of stitches repeatedly over a period of time. I am a fairly task oriented person and typically finish things I start that have a short completion period. I have a harder time doing the same thing over and over in order to complete a task. I love crossing things off short-term lists, it’s the longer term picking something up day after day or week after week. So in the hopes of building some long-term task completion abilities and giving me something to do while I watch my favorite shows.

Progress

Here is the scarf as of about 3 weeks ago!

The Sermon on the Mount #11 has similar reasons behind my desire to cross it off my list. I spent many years doing AWANA growing up and I missed the scripture memory in my life. I had always memorized verses and only memorized one chapter in college so I wanted to up the ante and memorize multiple chapters. I have to say it’s been fulfilling to attempt this and the Lord has used the quest to bring me comfort and encouragement in times when I’ve needed it most recently. On November 4, I lost someone who has been very dear to my life, Grandma Faye Wright went home to organize things in heaven for our Savior. She has been a consistent figure in my life since I was 3 years old and a pillar of faith in my life. She  told it like it is and never forgot anything even as a ninety year old woman. I got the news when I was at women’s conference with a friend and found myself in the bathroom crying. If there is one place to grieve, it is at a women’s conference. Before I finally composed myself again, I had at least 6 women stop and offer a hug, prayer or encouragement. “Blessed are those who mourn, for they will be comforted.” Matthew 5:4. As I sat there, I thanked God for the truth in His word and how He showed me that He is in control.

Stayed tuned for more 30 before 30…..

One thought on “30 before 30: #s 11 and 14 in progress

  1. Now I know why I like you so much and it’s not just because we have scrappin’ in common. I’m an AWANA girl too and I still have my Sparky vest. “We are Sparks for Jesus, Sparks to light the world.” Next time you come back, I’ll show it to ya. I’m sorry about your Grandma. She and my 91 year old Grandma would be fast friends I believe because my Grandma tells it like it is too. So glad you got to come to my cookie party 🙂

Leave a Reply

