I left my heart in San Francisco…

My name on the wall at Niketown

My name on the wall at Niketown

This past weekend I got to go to San Francisco to run the Nike Women’s Marathon and to see a lot of people fromLas Vegas. It was a great weekend and while some were a little surprised to learn that I was traveling and staying by myself in a city that I don’t know, I LOVED IT. I am 100% recommending that you take a trip to a city or country by yourself at some point in your life. It’s WONDERFUL to travel without another person’s eating, sleeping etc. schedules and it’s refreshing to do and see all the things you want. More about that later.

While in San Fran I got to catch up with my old friends from the LLS and ran the 1/2 marathon on Sunday morning. It was a beautiful but TOUGH course that featured some of the best views in the city and a finish right on the coast. Saturday and Monday were GORGEOUS days but Sunday, although overcast, was the perfect temperature to run in. It was in the mid to high 50’s and low humidity. It was a little bit cold at the finish but that’s probably because we were right on the Ocean. The professional pictures are already up and you can see them at here. Here are some of the pictures I took while running the race:

Sahar and I above the wharfs

Sahar and I above the wharfs

Running along the Pacific

Running along the PacificAlcatraz

I bummed around San Francisco on Monday to try and limber up my muscles and rode a cable car from Union Square to Fisherman’s Wharf which I later learned was practically the entire line!

A cable car!

I decided I needed to do an Alcatraz tour because I’ve never heard anyone say to skip going to Alcatraz. I never realized that rock holds so much historical significance. As I learned, they call Alcatraz a historical layer cake as it started out as a Civil war Naval base, became the infamous penitentary and finally the Native Americans occupied it after the prison doors shut in the 60’s.  It was AMAZING and if you ever go to San Francisco, spend the money and do the tour. It had by far the best views of the city and it was awesome to ferry out there on such a nice day.
Alcatraz cruises

Welcome to the rock

Welcome to the rock

Golden Gate Bridge

Golden Gate Bridge

The water tower overlooking the rec yard

The water tower overlooking the rec yard

More photos on flickr!

